RSS

Extra, extra read all about it

15 Sep

nureaucracyEvery time I log into my blog reader or check my Facebook feed, I feel like someone is inputting information faster than I can categorise it. As an occupational hazard, my brain is automatically distressed at the site of over-sexualised children or children being abused. My inner social justice advocate wants to start petitions and lobby congress. My inner girlie girl wants to buy shoes and pretend like the rest of the world exists. The daddy’s girl wants to call home and have dad come pick me up so I can escape the malice and ill-intentions of the world. There is so much information you get lost in it all. You are liking pages and commenting on statuses while still locked in the emotion from the earlier post. It is difficult to remember where you started once you get going.

So much access to information. So much opportunity to share information one has to wonder if people actually think, “should I share this?” Every page I like I think, “will this offend”. Every article I read I think “what can I do”? Every picture, every status, every millisecond of every day images, opinions, facts, fiction, slander, malice, beauty, intrigue, retail escape, encouragement to spend money I don’t have bombard my senses and make me wonder how I can become someone else.

Everyday is a new adventure in figuring out who I want to be and how I intend to get there. Sometimes choice is overwhelming and information transports you into the multi-faceted worlds in the minds of too many others. ~ Daily Prompt 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2014 in Social Work

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Extra, extra read all about it

  1. viewsplash

    September 15, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    Like the title of your post! 😀

    Like

     
    • TG Consultancy

      September 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm

      Thanks!

      Like

       
  2. kindazennish

    September 15, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    I know what you mean in the beginning of this post – some days I want to fix everything, but some days there is just too much, I want to pretend like everything is already fine.

    Like

     
  3. loupmojo

    September 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    That is one of the reasons I quit Facebook. It became too much to see lost children, abused animals, hate of all kinds and often coming from people I would not expect. I quit rather than have that overload. Good post.

    Like

     

Please share your thoughts and ideas

 
Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

The Rockstar Anthropologist

Where Anthropology Comes to Chat...

suesspiciousminds

Law, nonsense, and the nonsense of law

A Curvy Girl's Journey

Curvy Girl Experience

becauseimsingle

twenty-eight years old and now eating the whole cake.

