RSS

Adventures in Interviewing

22 Sep

666Many managers don’t like interviewing, whereas I love it. Enjoying it means I don’t mind volunteering to dip in for this. These are some of my experiences in the interview process of Social Workers. It has been nothing if not absolutely amusing.

My most recent set of interviews saw me being drawn in at the very last minute which I didn’t mind. One of the interviewees didn’t answer the questions or answered pieces of them then would go of on a tangent. :-/

Another interviewee spent the entire interview staring out of the window! You’re coming to me for a job and you can’t make eye contact? Sometimes I don’t believe people are conscious of their own behavior of the context. I don’t mean he candidate would glance out of the window from time to time, I mean she stared out of the window the ENTIRE time; not once did the candidate make any eye contact.

A third candidate spoke as if it were a conversation with friends in a pub. There was no semblance of professionalism in speech. It is important to make an effort and put your best foot forward during an interview. First impressions are everything because in most instances you don’t get a second chance.

I remember interviewing several months back and I was interviewing with another manager who was prompting the candidates for answers! I literally at points had to check myself because I am sure I was staring at her as though she had three heads! You can’t give them the answers! If a candidate doesn’t know the basic aspects of a Social Work position (and these were basic questions) then they don’t know and I am not scoring them for the answers where they were prompted. In essence, they were not getting the job.

I interviewed someone else that laughed or chuckled after every second sentence. It was slightly creepy. I had another candidate that stared intently; did not break eye contact in the slightest. It was unnerving. I have had people show up for interviews looking as though they were going for drinks. I have had people show up for interviews dressed as though the just that moment rolled out of bed. I have had people show up to interviews and look like they were going to cry!

Come on people, we are all adults. When you come to an interview you should be well dressed in a suit, both men and women. You should have adequately prepared for the interview. Most people will score your answers and decide from there whether or not you would be a suitable candidate, so you need to make the best impression possible. If not, then why bothering to show up. If I am interviewing you and your present with inappropriate or inadequate behavior, you will end up the subject of a critical post.

If in doubt, your local library has a host of books on preparing for interviews, interview techniques and how to combat nervousness. It is worth investing in a library card to be able to access these resources as it is better than the alternative!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2014 in My Practice

 

Tags: , , , ,

Please share your thoughts and ideas

 
Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

The Rockstar Anthropologist

Where Anthropology Comes to Chat...

suesspiciousminds

Law, nonsense, and the nonsense of law

A Curvy Girl's Journey

Curvy Girl Experience

becauseimsingle

twenty-eight years old and now eating the whole cake.

