RSS

Chicken Soup Sunday – Commitment

09 Nov

How am I feeling today? I’m not sure to be honest. The sun is out and shining through my living room window as I write and do laundry. I have had a productive weekend I suppose, in that I was able to tick a few things off my to do list. There is however, the lingering effects of disagreements at work. There is also a lingering satisfaction that I have been able to recognize I need help and seek it out. It’s strange sometimes to have these internal conversations with myself about myself but they help. They contribute to a self-awareness that has, in the past, kept me from focusing too long on the potential of a situation instead of seeing it for what it is and moving on.

I want to open the blinds, stare outside across the road at the people going into the supermarket to shop. I want to watch their faces and body language for the stories they tell. I don’t because opening my blinds means I am unable to see the television but I like that I am back to wanting to engage with the world, even from a distance. For a while there, retreat was my only course of action – or so I felt. I am not in the best of places but I am getting better.

How am I feeling today? I want that to be a question people ask themselves daily; a platform for honesty and permission to be a little selfish. It will be something I will ask myself each morning. It is my commitment to myself so I can keep my commitments to others. I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend. Happy Sunday!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2014 in Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

Please share your thoughts and ideas

 
Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

The Rockstar Anthropologist

Where Anthropology Comes to Chat...

suesspiciousminds

Law, nonsense, and the nonsense of law

A Curvy Girl's Journey

Curvy Girl Experience

becauseimsingle

twenty-eight years old and now eating the whole cake.

